Tuesday, November 8, 2011


by Margaret Peterson Haddix
The Missing, book four

Still reeling from their experiences in Roanoke in 1600, Jonah and Katherine arrive in 1611 only moments before a mutiny on Henry Hudson’s ship in the icy waters of James Bay. But things are messed up: They’ve lost the real John Hudson, and they find what seems to be the fabled Northwest Passage—even though they are pretty sure that route doesn’t actually exist. Will this new version of history replace everything they’ve ever known? Is this the end of time as we know it? With more at stake than ever before, Jonah and Katherine struggle to unravel the mysteries of 1611 and the Hudson Passage...before everything they know is lost. (description from

I really enjoy this series. There is such a great blend of historical facts and suspenseful action. In this particular volume, the author does note that she took some liberties with the historical facts to make them fit her vision for the story better, but no matter the changes, this is still an awesome way to spark a reader's interest in different historical periods. I, for one, have gone and looked some things up after reading each book!

I really enjoyed how Jonah and his sister, Katherine, really got to know each other better in this book. It was wonderful to see their relationship grow. I'm still very, very curious as to who J.B. actually is...I have my suspicions, but...I'm hoping that the next book might reveal more!! I can't wait to read it.

Full disclosure: Audio book received to review for SLJ

No comments:

Post a Comment