Monday, September 1, 2014

Taste of Darkness

Taste of Darkness
By Maria V. Snyder
Healer trilogy, book three

She's fought death and won. But how can she fight her fears?

Avry knows hardship and trouble. She fought the plague and survived. She took on King Tohon and defeated him. But now her heart-mate, Kerrick, is missing, and Avry fears he's gone forever.

But there's a more immediate threat: The Skeleton King plots to claim the Fifteen Realms for his own. With armies in disarray and the dead not staying down, Avry's healing powers are needed now more than ever.

Torn between love and loyalty, Avry must choose her path carefully. For the future of her world depends on her decision.
(Description from

I love Maria Snyder's books. She writes such an interesting world - fantastic in the types of magic within it but so believably realistic, too.  I always feel as if I could drop right into the world and actually feel the grass beneath my feet...probably before I'd be running for my life for one reason or another, LOL. The scenery seems to just come to life off the page.  

Her characters are also so multifaceted and entertaining. Not only do the main characters, like Avry and Kerrick, seem to dance so smoothly through my imagination, but she manages to create these fabulous secondary characters that I cannot help but love. I gobble up every scene that Belen, Odd, and Flea make appearances in! It was the same in her Study series! 

No matter what she writes, I will read Snyder's books.  I will say that right now I'm DYING to read the next book in the Study series - Shadow Study. It was sort of a surprise that she went back to those characters, but one that I, at least, am SOOOOO grateful for...Valek! *swoons*

Full disclosure: eARC received from Netgalley, ebook purchased for my Nook 

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

What's On My Hold List?

Picture from YaBookNerd's blog,
because, though, I started this meme
she created a much cuter pic for it!
Welcome to the August 2014 edition


"What's on My Hold List?"

One of the most beautiful things about working in a Library is that I have the ability to put lots of things on hold and read them *before* I buy!! These are some of the books that I'm currently waiting for, though I may buy one or two of them after reading, as well.

These are the books I'm waiting for right now:

Gates of Thread and Stone 
by Lori M. Lee
by Phoebe North
Top Secret Twenty-One
by Janet Evanovich

Trial By Fire
by Josephine Angelini

You can click on each title to go to their Goodreads page for a description...

So, these are the books I'm waiting anxiously to get my hands on...what are you waiting for??

Friday, August 22, 2014

Storm Siren

Storm Siren
by Mary Weber
Storm Siren trilogy, book one

In a world at war, a slave girl’s lethal curse could become one kingdom’s weapon of salvation. If the curse—and the girl—can be controlled.

As a slave in the war-weary kingdom of Faelen, seventeen-year-old Nym isn’t merely devoid of rights, her Elemental kind are only born male and always killed at birth — meaning, she shouldn’t even exist.

Standing on an auction block, Nym is snatched up by a court advisor and given a choice: be trained as the weapon Faelen needs to win the war, or be killed. Choosing the former, Nym is unleashed into a world of politics, bizarre parties, and rumors of an evil more sinister than she’s being prepared to fight . . . not to mention the handsome trainer whose dark secrets lie behind a mysterious ability to calm every lightning strike she summons. But what if she doesn’t want to be the weapon they’ve all been waiting for?
(Description from

Ooh, there's nothing I like better in a supernatural fantasy than a heroine that I can relate to, even when I can't relate to her at all.  Meaning...Nym is an elemental, able to summon storms and control the weather...someone with powers I couldn't even imagine, yet Weber writes her emotions in such a way that I can actually imagine being Nym.  She freaks out over her powers, she feels guilty for all the destruction she causes, she falls in love, and fears for her life in the midst of an impending war.  She is a girl that I can imagine being or knowing outside of the powers...and then she's even cooler because, well, she can conjure a hurricane if she gets angry! Amazing. 

Though this world is a fictional land with its own history and belief system, interesting creatures and supernatural powers, Weber presents it so that it is not only easy to fall into the world, but also you can't help but be captivated by the crazy couture costumes at the fancy dress parties, be horrified by the flesh-eating war horses, or be terrified at the idea of a shapeshifting mad man looking to take over the world. 

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, loved the EPIC twist at the end, and I need book two as soon as I can get my greedy little hands on it! I want more Nym!! 

Full disclosure: ARC received from Wunderkind PR for honest review