Tuesday, February 22, 2011

The Inside Story

The Inside Story
by Michael Buckley
The Sisters Grimm, book eight

After the shocking ending of The Everafter War, this book picks up with Sabrina, Daphne, and Puck stuck in the Book of Everafter, where all the fairy tales are stored and enchanted characters can change their destinies. The girls (and Puck) must chase the Master through a series of stories, where they’re willing to change what they need in order to save their baby brother. Soon, however, they are confronted by the Editor—the book’s guardian—who, along with an army of tiny monsters known as Revisers, threatens the children with dire consequences if they don’t stick to the stories. As they chase their quarry and dodge the Revisers, they meet Alice, Mowgli, Jack the Giant Killer, Hansel and Gretel, the Headless Horseman, and more. But will they find their brother in time? (description taken from

This is one of my all-time favorite series. The part of me that has never really grown up revels in the idea that someone else out there...not just me!...imagined a world where fairy tale creatures were real. There is just something purely magical about the world that Sabrina and Daphne inhabit!

Each of the characters is captivating. Sabrina, Daphne, Relda, and yes, even Puck grow and change throughout the series. In this particular volume, Sabrina deals with some severe self-doubts. Surprisingly enough, Puck assists Daphne in talking her around. Puck even makes some surprising discoveries about himself, his relationship within the family, and drops some hints into his own deeper feelings.

I admire Sabrina's sheer determination and fierce family loyalty, Daphne's heart and endless optimism, but most of all I think I love Puck's well "pucktastic"-ness. He is definitely my favorite character in the series.

This is the second to last book in the series and again ends with a nice cliffhanger. I cannot wait to see how everything works out!

No comments:

Post a Comment